Help Topic »
General Information
General Information
  • How do I edit my profile?

    Making changes to your OpenMinded profile is very simple.

    • Click on your account name on the upper right hand corner. A menu will then drop down.
    • Select View My Profile >> Edit Profile.
    • From here, you can make changes to any section of your profile. Click on any of these areas to make the necessary changes. Click Update Profile when finished.
  • What if I have trouble uploading photos?

    If you’re having trouble uploading or posting photos:

    • Try uploading the original photo instead of an edited version,
    • Check the photo format. Upload only JPEG, BMP, PNG, GIF, or TIFF files.
    • Check the size of the photo. We recommend uploading photos under 10MB.
    • Make sure you’re using the latest version of your browser.

    If you are still unable to upload photos please attach all of the ones you want on the site to an email to [email protected], along with your username and the email used to create your account.

  • How can I get my photos and profile approved faster?

    To ensure that members are using the OpenMinded site appropriately, our team reviews all submitted photos prior to making them public. This review process takes some time, but allows us to preserve important community standards and the integrity of our user base. Please note that we process these submissions in the order of which they are received.

    Below is a list of guidelines to help you choose great photos for your profile. OpenMinded reserves the full right to reject inappropriate photos.

    Basic Guidelines for photos:

    • Format: Pictures must be in JPEG, BMP, PNG, GIF, or TIFF formats.
    • Orientation: Photos need to be upright.

    Other reasons we will reject a photo:

    • Public photo contains nudity
    • Includes family members or persons other than yourself
    • Includes personal or identifying information (names, addresses, phone numbers, etc.)
    • Illegal act or activity is depicted
    • Photo is a collage (multiple photos in one)
    • Public Photos are highly offensive to average user

    Guidelines for choosing photos that give the best results:

    • Your photo should be clear, not blurry or with face obscured or in shadow.
    • The first photo you upload should be a close-up or headshot.
    • Smile! A positive expression makes a positive impression.
    • Use a recent photo.

    IMPORTANT: Multiple submissions actually slow down your approval, because each new submission is sent to the end of our queue. Please submit each item only once.

  • How do I grant Private Photo Permissions to another member?

    Granting permission to another member so they can view your Private Photos is easy. There are a couple of ways you can do this. You will notice a downward pointing arrow to the right of their profile name, indicating a dropdown menu:

    • While messaging with another member, click on their profile name in the top left to open the drop down menu and then click on the “Grant Private Photos” link.
      • Note: You cannot grant Private Photo permission without having a Private Photo uploaded to your profile.
    • While viewing a members profile, click on their profile name to open the drop down menu and then click on the “Grant Private Photos” link.
      • You cannot grant Private Photo permission without having a Private Photo uploaded to your profile.
  • How do I revoke Private Photo viewing permissions?

    After you have granted another member access to your Private Photos you may want to remove their viewing permissions. There are a few ways you can do this.

    • When messaging with another member, click on their profile name to open the drop down menu and then click on the “Revoke Private Photos” link.
    • When viewing a members profile, click on their profile name to open the drop down menu and click on the “Revoke Private Photos” link.
    • Navigate to the list of profiles that you have Granted Private Photo permissions to by clicking on your profile name in the top right corner of the website and selecting “Manage Photos” from the drop down menu.
      • Click on the “Granted by Me” tab to reveal a list of members you have granted permissions to, find the member you want to revoke permissions from and click on the “Reject” link.
  • How do I manage my Private Photo Permissions?

    To manage your Private Photos Permissions click on your profile name in the top right corner of the website and then select “Manage Photos” from the dropdown menu. You will notice two tabs appear that will allow you to manage your Private Photos lists.

    • Granted by Me: is the tab that lists all of the members you have granted Private Photos Permissions to. Here you will be able to Reject permissions to other members, making your Private Photos hidden to them again. Once rejected they will be removed from the list.
    • Granted to Me: is the tab that lists all of the members that have Granted you permission to view their Private Photos.
  • How do I request to view another members Private Photos?

    First, the member must have Private Photos uploaded to their profile. Private photos will be displayed, by default, with a padlock image that indicates a private image.

    • When viewing a members profile with Private Photos uploaded, click on the members profile name to open the dropdown menu and select “Request Private Photos”
      • A notification will be sent to the member on their dashboard to Grant or Deny permission
  • I forgot or need to change my username and/or password. How do I log into my account?

    If you don’t remember your username or password, click the “Forgot Password” link on the Member Sign In page.

    We will send you a password reset link that allows you to reset your password within 24 hours.

    If you are experiencing further difficulties logging into your user account

    • Are your username (or email address) and password correct?
      • If you need a new password, please reset it here. You will be required to
    • Check your Spam or Junk Mail folder. Email providers will sometimes erroneously classify our messages.

    If you still cannot log into your account, please contact Customer Support.

  • How can I change my listed birthdate?

    Please contact Customer Support, and be sure to spell out the birth month (e.g., “February” or “Feb.” rather than “2” or “02”) to avoid format confusion.

  • How can I change the email address on my account?
    • Login to your account.
    • Click on your account name on the upper right hand corner. A menu will then drop down. Select View My Profile >> Settings
    • Find and complete the “Change Your Email Address” form on this page.

    IMPORTANT: Users can register an email address only one time. If an account is deleted and a member wishes to restore the account with a previously used email, please contact [email protected] to regain access.

  • If I delete my account, can I get it back?

    Yes. Your old profile information will still be saved, but you will need to upload a new photo. Please note that for your privacy, Favorites and the records of those you have viewed and those who have viewed you cannot be restored.

    You may not create another account with the email address used for an existing account. Our system does not allow more than one account to be registered to the same email address. Instead, please contact Customer Support to have your profile restored. You will need to provide the email address you used previously to access the deleted account.

  • How do I delete my account?

    For privacy and security reasons, we are unable to delete your account for you. Please follow these steps below to delete your account.

    • Login to your account.
    • Click on “Settings,” located in the upper right hand corner of your profile dashboard.
    • You will find the “Delete Your Account” button at the bottom of the Settings page.
Simple Share Buttons